Header Ads

Most Comcast customers now have a 1TB Home Broadband data cap in the US

Comcast's home internet data caps are going live for a majority of customers starting November 1st, the company announced today. Called the "Xfinity Terabyte Internet Data Usage Plan," the cap restricts the amount of data you consume in your home to 1TB per month regardless of the speed of your plan. Comcast claims 99 percent of customers use less than 1TB of data per month, and that median use is just 75MB. But it does now offer an unlimited option for $50 more per month. Of course, with digitally delivered games and software, and streaming video that is increasingly coming in HD and 4K resolutions, that could change rapidly.

Back in April, Comcast bumped its data cap from 300GB to 1TB after consumer backlash and renewed regulatory concern from the FCC. And until today, the plan has been active in select markets for 16 states. But starting November 1st, the list will add 18 new markets, bringing the total number of states with the terabyte data cap to around 30. Notable exceptions include New York and nearly the entire northeast. For a full list of included markets, check Comcast's online FAQ.

What Can You Do With A Terabyte?


So what happens if you go over 1TB per month? For the first two months in a 12 month period that it happens, nothing. Also, Comcast customers can adjust their settings for notifications via email, browser or text when they reach thresholds like 50, 70, 85 or 125 percent of the cap. The third time it's exceeded within a 12 month period, however, the "courtesy months" go away and users will be charged $10 for an additional 50GB of data, which will continue happening to a limit of $200 per month. If you want unlimited data access, you can buy it up front, for an additional $50 per month over your current internet bill.

XFINITY Internet customers in the following locations have the Terabyte Internet Data Usage Plan:

  • Alabama (excluding the Dothan market)
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida (Fort Lauderdale, the Keys, and Miami)
  • Georgia (excluding Southeastern Georgia)
  • Illinois
  • Northern Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Southwestern Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Tennessee
  • Eastern Texas
  • South Carolina
  • Southwest Virginia

Effective November 1, 2016:
  • Alabama (Dothan)
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Florida (North Florida, Southwest Florida and West Palm)
  • Southeastern Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana (Indianapolis and Central Indiana; Fort Wayne and Eastern Indiana)
  • Kansas
  • Michigan (Grand Rapids/Lansing, Detroit, and Eastern Michigan)
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • New Mexico
  • Western Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Texas (Houston)
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

No comments

blogmytuts. Powered by Blogger.